Kicking Against The Pricks

A slightly different take on Eddie McGuire’s comments

WixxyLeaks

Like many others I awoke to the news that Eddie McGuire did not need to take the “phone a friend” option to say something stupid.

I won’t repeat what Eddie said as it was stupid and foolish, and clearly many people took offense at it. Although it’s available all though the press, and you’ve probably heard it anyway.

I will however say some things in Eddie’s defence if I may.

In the context of how it they were used, his words were clearly meant as a joke. Now I know that is not an excuse, however I think the line with jokes comes down to intent.

I don’t believe Eddie had a malicious intent when he uttered the words he is clearly now regretting. He now seems genuinely upset that he has foolishly caused offense.

He has however done the right thing so far, he has fronted up and…

View original post 948 more words

3 thoughts on “Kicking Against The Pricks

  1. The due I’ll give McGuire is that he apologized “for” the offense he caused which suggests genuine regret. This is in contrast to the too often heard apology “if” any offense was taken, which suggests that no offense should have been taken, I didn’t do anything wrong but I have to apologize.

  2. I won’t repeat what Eddie said as it was stupid and foolish, and clearly many people took offense at it. Although it’s available all though the press , and you’ve probably heard it anyway.

What do YOU think about this?

