“…dirty stinky petrol drinking Centrelink warriors.”

Another spectacularly tragic Facebook group, where people find it acceptable to post their hideous hatred. Just under 80,000 people ‘like’ this page in fact. And with people like Lauren Herbert talking about our population being invaded, Nathan Stewart and Joshua Goodall defending racism and Daniel Torrens talking about how our Indigenous people are all ‘stinky petrol drinking Centrelink warriors’, are we really going to continue to deny the existence of racism in Australia?

79 thoughts on ““…dirty stinky petrol drinking Centrelink warriors.”

  1. I’m still trying to understand what Lauren Herbert is trying to convey. Perhaps she is the reason I am married to an Asian, as I would not want my kids to turn out like her. Judging by her spelling it seems that her parents must have been brother and sister.
    Nuff said!

  2. you bloody anti Australians need to get a life these ppl clearly have strong opinions that r vital issues, u lot r wasting ur time ccalling them poor u r sad really sad get a job and contribute u discriminative mongrels

    • I do work, dipshit, and if you want to talk about “discrimination”? Take a look at what your “Australian” friends do when it comes to the colour of someone’s skin!!!

    • I have a job Tom, so that means I’m allowed to comment then.

      They’re disgusting excuses for human beings. I would rather live with a thousand asians than anyone of them. Especially since all the asians I’ve met so far have been incredibly polite and well mannered. That’s more than I can say for many Australians.

      What are these “vital issues” that these morons are discussing?

      P.S. – Learn to speak and write proper english please, it’s hard to take anyone seriously when they can’t even speak their first language correctly.

  3. It’s very, very disheartening. I knew it was there but, up until I started following this site, I didn’t realise how bad it was. We should stop pretending border security is our biggest issue and one that must be addressed at all costs and start taking a long hard look in the national mirror.

    If you look around for countries that are similar to australia in terms of geography and geology, it’s hard to ignore the similarities with South Africa. We are a European dominated culture in the middle of Asia/Oceania desperately clinging to our European heritage, much like the Afrikaans did. The racism of apartheid was obvious to everyone in the world except for them. However, to the credit of the South African people as a whole, while the racism was much more prevalent there, when it came time to admit the problem existed and change the country, they rose to the task and set an example for the world.

    If you think this is an exaggeration, think about how unusual it is to see an indigenous Australian working in an office. We all should hang our heads in shame for the sorry state of our land’s original owners and for the fact that there are 80,000 “likes” for the group above.

    As for the Chinese. Anyone who thinks they’re all the same obviously doesn’t have any Chinese friends.

    • I’m a little concerned you think South Africa are a shining beacon of tolerance and equality among races. It may have changed since apartheid, but it is doing as poorly as we are.

    • Yeah, while I agree completely with the gist of your post I don’t think you should be holding South Africa up as an example of successfully overcoming racism. Apartheid ended because of international pressure and the efforts of the black population, not because the white population suddenly had a change of heart and racism is still rife there.

      • @Paddy & @Little: the main point I wanted to make was how even if we’re in denial the rest of world won’t be. As for SA being an example for us, fair point. They have come a long way but still have a long way to go. In fact, this just goes to show how hard it is to eradicate racism once it becomes entrenched in a society. The sooner we admit we have the disease and begin to treat it the better.

        • Just finished reading the list of comments…
          The part that catches my eye is your comment Racism is Disease so are you M.D , if thats the case then better start looking at the world as hole, as for remarks about SA being example for us… really what world are you living in
          racism is just as strong now as it was before , only differance its on the other foot not only to whites and other cultures but to there own and lets be honest its to do wealth and power..if want to fight again’st Racism then get real and start posting Racist comments from all countries that are addressed at all culture not just australia alone, as travel abroad lot and see each of those countries being Racist…

          Do you really think that small group of Aussie are the only one’s that are Racist in this world or are you only interested in own backyard…. would be nice to think there be no wars in this world, as for eradicating Racism that will never happen, again it be nice to think that every culture and country in this world would share and help each other
          But why you have people only interested in wealth and power and control over others viewpoint which includes the Media and even at times this website.. it will never happen
          its like what read here….. I’m not Racist.. butttttttttt ….. well have also read that media and websites
          believe in freedom of speech.. yet if person exercise that right they will attack if they dont like that person
          opinion…. let just remember its that person opinion alone, its just like some comments that read on this
          website, I agree with lot of comments speaking out again’st racism and ther those that don’t agree with.

          cheers enjoy day

        • So your point is we should not fight racism in Australia because there is racism in other countries?

          You’re entitled to that opinion just as I’m entitled to call it a cop out.

        • Kabdoo… you miss the point if want to speakout about RACISM then do it worldwide and lets stop pointing fingers at those few in Australia who dont like other cultures., if you took the trouble. to read you find lots of ricist items from other countries that could just as easy be posted on this website, ,,, to make the remark about being copout is just Bulls…… t , are you only interested in your own backyard is what said before just like you they have opinion.. I dont believe or except what they say, but just as I have said we have the freedom of speech in australia and as far as I’m concerned I can read what they say and put it where it belong and thats in rubbish Bin,

        • I got your point. I disagree with your approach. Yes I would like to concentrate on my own backyard. Have you ever heard of the term “trying to boil the ocean”? We have to be realistic about what is achievable. Having said this, what makes you think the people here aren’t involved in fighting racism in other countries and forums? There are worldwide movements fighting all types of injustices – many of which have their roots in racism.

          As for there being a “few in Australia who don’t like other cultures” I think you’ve vastly underestimated the problem we are facing. Maybe this is because you can “read what they say and put it where it belong and thats in rubbish bin” whereas the people who suffer as a result of it can’t ignore it so easily because it affects their day to day lives.

          Do you believe freedom of speech is absolute and comes with no responsibilities?

  4. Ugh I had about 10 of my Facebook friends like this in the last few days. The amount of diverse Chinese people I know make this group redundant,

  5. When these idiots grow up and discover that overseas travel does not mean going to Bali (with 10 of their ‘p*ss head’ mates) the words on that FB page will be seen for the complete trash that it is. Chinese people have a long history in both Australia as well as their own country. Maturity and education are lacking in those posts.

    • Actually I think the root cause is purely fear of the unknown. People who are afraid tend to seek each other out because they think there’s safety in numbers. It’s the same with gangs in violent neighbourhoods.

      Our public schools hold a “harmony day” each year when kids are encouraged to come to school dressed in the national dress of their (or their parents’) country of origin and bring some traditional food to share. Maybe we adults should join them. It would be a hoot.

      • Just Googled Harmony Day and it’s for adults, too. I’m going to organise an event where I work for the next one, on 21st March 2012. I know a few guys who could do with a good falafel. 😉

        • Kabdoo, you earlier asked me a question.. do I believe in absolute Freedom of Speech.. yes I do, as its one of our foundation stones of our country….. and you say without responsibilities since when does the media ever worry about that or the truth for that matter ???. . your not suggesting that you can write and say as you wish but thoses that Have Racist or sexist view cant write or say as they wish….
          You say about organising Harmony Day that take place in your kids school, have already attended many culture days as you see my wife is Asia and have many Thai and indian friends, so what you said is already well and truly going on and thousand of everyday australian attend and enjoy the culture and food and not once have I seen a Racist rally or Banner outside that event.so guess they are not fully committed to that viewpoint about Racism and for whites only poicy.
          You say I underestimate the Problem of Racism in this country.. really then how come when they hold a rally only few people turn-up. many, many people share a view about not liking illegal boat people landing in australia and trying to jump ahead ot those refugee’s that wish to enter via a legal means., but you have those people who of the view just want to open the door and let anybody in who said they are refugee enter, its not what you say is legal or I might say is illegal, its what the government and immigration department of the day Rules….that viewpoint does not make them a racist, we either have laws to govern our country or we don’t, you just cant have it one way.

          Here couple of question for you.. 1 how old are you and what do you really know about Racism not just in your backyard but around world first hand… 2 How many countries abroad have you been too and amount of time that you have lived and experienced that countries culture and Racism that exist. again’st its own people….if the answer is you haven’t experienced or know first hand …
          I kndly suggest you do and not talk to me about trying to boil the ocean as presently in the Philippines and attended Human rights seminar earlier this morning , I spend almost 6 to 8 months of the year abroad in Asia , middle east and the states.. if you really want to see Racism at work just go to states and listen to the Rednecks Talk. you would have more chance getting a brickwall to understand what the word means..

          Zulu… earlier made a comment, that we only have a inpure and implied Freedom of speech and he is so right in that comment… only the media feels they have the freedom of speech regardless of the truth to write and print as they so wish…. WE MUST HAVE ABSOLATE FREEDOM OF SPEECH long as you are prepared to standby your believe or opinion whether is right or wrong has nothing to do with it.

          cheers.

        • I was born in Gaza, Palestine in 1968 and came here with my family as a refugee in 1970. My father was born on March 14th 1942. In the rush to come here we lost his papers and an immigration officer decided it would be fun to arbitrarily give a Muslim man named Muhammad a birth date of December 25th 1939 – despite his protests. My father died last October and I finally got a chance to set the record straight by adding, underneath the official birthdate on his headstone, that “to his family he was born on 14th March, 1942”. Unfortunately he never got to see it.

          I know of racism in Muslim countries against foreigners (Muslim and non-Muslim) from my brother who worked in the Gulf and and Asia for 12 years and has just returned to Australia. I know about racism in the US from my uncle who ran a 7-Eleven in Austin Texas for 10 years before he returned to Australia about 15 yrs ago. Through work I have made many friends in India and my colleagues openly tell me of the issues faced there. I have a dark skinned cousin who lives in Switzerland who told me of many experiences whe has had of getting on buses only to find light skinned people look at her in a funny way then change seats. I talk to family in Gaza regularly and I don’t need to tell you what they are subjected to.

          I have spent 5 years trying to establish a council-approved, small prayer room in the Hills District in Sydney. Despite only looking in the industrial zones where we’ll be far away from residents (as advised by council), we have so far been rejected by almost 30 landlords. Most landlords gave no reason. A few that did said it was “not appropriate” or that they didn’t mind but they feared being targeted by people in the community for “letting us in”. This is despite the fact that there are at least 15 churches in the same industrial area (about 1km square). I have been told by many real estate agents that they won’t repeat it but they believe it’s simply because we are Muslim. Some of the properties we were rejected from had been on the market for years without tenants and most of those are still empty.

          Throughout my life I have experienced racism, both overt and politely disguised by people who are educated enough to dance around the topic with fancy words. Recently a manager (who has since left) questioned my loyalty to Australia because I objected to him handing out alcohol in the office when it’s always been company policy to have it down in the courtyard. My desk is in the middle and I would have had to work surrounded by people drinking alcohol, which I abhor for religious reasons. I understand him disagreeing but why would he question my loyalty to Australia??

          I could go on but I shouldn’t have to prove myself to you just for the right to object to racism in Australia and view it differently to you. I’m sure you will find some way to argue about my stories above but I don’t care. Anyone on this forum has a right to have their voice heard, whether they are well travelled and experienced or not.

          Let’s concentrate on the real issues, not how your opinion is superior to anyone else’s:

          1) You said we should have absolute freedom of speech. Does that mean hate speech is acceptable to you, regardless of the affects on it’s target people?
          2) You said Australia shouldn’t let asylum seekers arrive by boat because we need to have laws. Does that mean you don’t believe international laws such as the one that says arrival by boat for genuine refugees is legal? If so, what, if any, international laws should Australia abide by and based on what criteria?

        • Kabdoo,
          I asked you those Question and you have clearly answered .. I think you would be one of first I’ve read on this website that has some idea what they talking about and broader view of Racism on worldwide base.
          You didn’t need to prove yourself or would I argue again’st what you have said in regard to your story’ as just wanted to know how much you really new about Racism on worldwide bases, which you clearly do
          I’m sure your uncle that lived in Texas would have told some interesting story about Rednecks.
          Firstly lets lets go back to issue of Free Speech.. yes we must have total Freedom of Speech…
          you asked me is Hate speech is acceptable, NO, but you better be prepared to standby your word in my view its just the same as people being foul mounth when speak in public.. that offend me but again thats there right of Free Speech also does ‘nt this website direct hate towards those that make comments toward other australian who have racist views, …..
          Now to correct you and kindly pointout to me, where said didn’t believe in interantional law.. what I said was those that are illegal under our governemt policy not mine or yours, should’nt have the right to be concided over those in refugee camps because they arrived by boat…..
          See this is the Beauty as Australian is our Right to Freedom of speech, both you and I can debate any issue out of respect for other views, it not Question as to who opinion is superior, at no point did say that Racism is’nt issue. only said its not as big issue…. I believe half these Racist clown that write and leave comments are really full SH…..T , it really doesn’t take much guts or Brains to post racist comments on
          websites and take lot more guts to go out in public venue and debate in person…
          Your comments and objection about alcohol in work place I totally agree with, as it also show disrepect
          to your religious background, also comments about trying to open prayer room is also unexceptable every
          religion has the right to place of worship in any place that they desire, if you lived in my area would be happy to help you…
          What we all have to decide.. is we either have FREEDOM OF SPEECH regardless of the content
          or we say no its ok for one group to say and speakout but iff you or anybody doesn’t sagree then no you can’t have Freedom of Speech…..
          If we are going to have changes we need to be open minded and not one eye, same as we cant say
          we have two set of rules and laws….
          Thank you for sharing your background experience of your family and
          what they know about Racism worldwide hopefully one day the world will be much better place
          without wars etc and we live as one…

          Cheers

        • So you’re all for unrestrained ‘freedom of speech’ are you? Do you believe that Australia should abandon its Racial Discrimination and Anti-Discrimination legislation?

        • TAB,
          This question coming from you, is bit like calling the kettle Black….. yes Freedom of Speech is every australian right.. now if by his comments he breaches any laws or legislation then sorry to say , then they have problem and likely to find themselfs in court….. does not the media and yourself claim the right
          to print what you wish in public forum, regardless if its totally True… so I will ask you do want Freedom of speech or not, if you say NO then close down the newspaper and all form of media, as they have no problem printing false information etc..
          now at what point have I ever said anything about Australia abandon its Racism Discrimination and Anti – Discrinination Legislation.. am sure you cannot find anywhere such a comment from me…..you have called me Racist and made foul mouth remarks toward me, yet you have never meet me or truly Know little of me but did I get upset when you also posted a private one on one email to you…. no , perhaps I tend to be lot more open minded and dont have a one eye or tunnel vision, also look at everybody point of view,, whether I agree with it or not .

        • Barry, you said that Australia should have complete freedom of speech. At the moment, the only restrictions on freedom of speech are forms of legislation including anti-discrimination and racial hatred laws.

          So I’ll ask the question again. Would you like to see such legislation abandoned?

        • TAB,
          Did I not answer your question, yes you can have unrestrained Freedom of speech, just be prepared to end up in court or before Anti – Discrimination Board as sure many people have already with your help..
          Once you start putting total restriction and bring Laws in to also restrict people where will it end, just cant
          see where you can have it both ways, one need to be held accountable for one own action, or before
          to long we will become socialist State… Do you also want Legislation to come into force in the future that
          could also restrict what you can say and put on this website or don’t you think such a thing could happen
          to you and the media…. My God, I went to my Grand kids sport day and was approached and told am not allowed to take photo, because people are scared that the photos will go to some sick website.. tell me dont you think we are just starting to go a little bit stupid.,, here I was with ID with my photo and name of the photograhers club, plus, my Blue card ID…. how sad that was not allowed to take photo of the grand kids running etc…
          perhaps we have to agree to disagree, you want one person to have restriction on what they can say
          and another can attack that person because of that person viewpoint without restriction.as said If you say it or post it in newspaper be prepared to face the music.

        • “Once you start putting total restriction and bring Laws in to also restrict people where will it end”

          What you don’t understand Barry, is that where we are is a good place to be. And there’s no suggestion of further restrictions on speech. But it is rightly so that it is illegal to push hate speech in public if that speech discriminates against people based on their gender, disability, race, religion or disability.

          You advocate for complete freedom of speech, so I’ll ask a THIRD time: Would YOU like anti-discrimination laws and the Racial Hatred Act abandoned?

        • Really getting sick of this Barry bloke fast… and beginning to think he’s Scott disguised “my wife is Asia”

          Please don’t refer to asylum seekers as “illegal boat people” it’s simply incorrect and you sound like a dickhead. There’s no orderly queue to come to Australia when you live in Sudan or Afghanistan and even if there was a queue would you join it if your family was all at risk of being murdered? Of course you wouldn’t… and besides THERE’S NO FUCKING QUEUE!!

          Are you actually arguing that racism isn’t an issue in Australia worthy of fighting because racists don’t picket the harmony day exhibitions you attend? I like to believe that if rednecks did picket a harmony day exhibition then they would be moved on by the police.. That’s the beauty of implied free speech in this country. If you’re out to preach hate and just plain peddle bullshit then no one should have to hear it.

          Would you like to see loonies like the Westboro baptist church screaming ‘fag troops’ at diggers funerals? If you answered yes… Are you fuckin mental? No one needs that shit!

          As for your questions… My age is irrelevant as is the amount of time I’ve spent overseas.. We absolutely (notice- not absolately) need to fight racism in our backyard regardless of how bad racism is overseas.. I don’t hear you campaigning that we should stop fighting AIDS in Australia because ‘AIDS is heaps worse in Africa’.

          Good luck finding a prayer room Kabdoo.. If I owned any property I would be more than happy to have Muslims praying there.. Heck it’d have to be better than renting to students like me and my roommates.

        • “Good luck finding a prayer room Kabdoo.. If I owned any property I would be more than happy to have Muslims praying there.. Heck it’d have to be better than renting to students like me and my roommates.”

          Thanks, J. And I have to concur about the students. I was one once and I wouldn’t have rented me anything! 🙂

        • Hi J
          Really don’t know why even bother , just finished answering Kabdoo comments, who clearly knows what taking about by his personal and family background.. but you on the other hand are rather stupid. as I sure you where born with two brains, one got lost and the other still looking for it..

          Really am tired of that old record, about not referring to asyum seekers as illegal boat people, anybody regardless as to how they land here are classed illegal if dont have entry papers and that include tourist that overstay there visa.. I dont decide who illegal your government, you clown decide that…
          Your Remarks, about no queue, pleased you told me, as though UN had lot of refugee camps around the world with people applying to enter australia as refugee though UN Etc… have to go talk couple of my friends that came to Australia via one of these refugee camps THAT LEFT THERE COUNTRY IN FEAR OF THERE LIFE AND WITH NOTHING….. and you call me DH… GO GET YOUR FACT RIGHT,

          Again get facts right, said Racism is’nt as big as some people are trying to make it out to be, I said nothing about not trying to address those issue in australia and abroad…oh thats right you are only worried about your backyard, not the world as a hole.. again you fool…. my Remarks about Rednecks
          you wouldn’t have clue what they are like under there bill of rights that just what they can do..those that write or speak about white only in australia are pussy cats up agains’t these Rednecks.

          ARRRR I see you believe in implied free speech long as its smooth to your ear and liking and you can say and write what you desire but Racist can’t…FREEDOM OF SPEECH means that regardless of the content, just make sure if believe it, then defend it and be prepared to debate it in public forum.
          You really are clown, bringing up Westboro Baptish church, under the american bill of rights thats what they are allowed t, yes its very sick,. will not defend that kind of act.. so again you want laws and
          a bill of rights that are again smoothing to your ear and liking and don’t offend you..
          another stupid comment you make about not fighting AIDS in australia because its worse in Africa.
          how stupid are you it has no relationship with racism..
          Now in regards to age and experiences, by your comment you are student and for knowing anything
          about the world you are surely lacking.. perhaps the biggest differance between you and myself
          I will debate my viewpoint face to face and sure doesn’t make my viewpoint superior, one shouldn’t hide hide behind a website as most of the people do on this website or media……

          keep looking you might find your other brain if open both eyes.

          Cheers

        • Quote ‘barry f’: “…anybody regardless as to how they land here are classed illegal if dont have entry papers …”

          Wrong – According to UN legislation under article 33, asylum seekers are protected by the ‘Convention Principle’ meaning that they are legally allowed to be here whilst applying for sanctuary/ asylum. They are even issued “Nansen Passports” made especially for refugees and asylum seekers so that sorts out your ‘paper work’ issue. Since we are part and parcel of the UN as signatories, we have to uphold their laws which incidentally, our government decided upon.

          Since you are talking of getting ‘facts right’, you need to get yours right too.

          http://www.unhcr.org/3b66c2aa10.html
          http://www.aph.gov.au/Library/pubs/BN/sp/AsylumSeekers_Resources.htm#conv

        • Thanks guys I’ve spent a little while now trying to figure out how to put this so he’ll get it..^^

          I’m glad you did bother Baz.. Even if reading your post does hurt my head..

          I guess I’m just tired of seeing asylum seekers branded as ‘illegal boat people’. Have your technicalities but it’s that whole mentality that drives fear in the ignorant. Why throw around terms like ‘illegal immigrant’ to describe such a vulnerable, disadvantaged group? You mean to say that they are technically illegal until they have lodged a claim for asylum? Clutching at straws isn’t it?

          Or maybe you are talking about the 10 or so percent who’s claims are found to be illegitimate? I’m confused..

          I understand that refugee camps exist the world over but I still believe that put in such a desperate situation a good portion of people will choose to flee their home countries with their families by other means.

          I really struggle to understand your post after that point but I think it’s pretty clear you didn’t comprehend mine.. Arguing about how racism is worse overseas is absurd. It’s beside the point completely, I really don’t know why you subscribe to this site.. Obviously racism has nothing to do with AIDS in Africa.. I was making a point about fighting racism in Aus but apparently it went straight over your head.

          You want ‘FREEDOM OF SPEECH’ yet despise Westboro and alike??? Don’t you see that fully fledged freedom of speech means giving nut-jobs like that a (legal) voice?

          Ha I always find it funny that blokes like you will attack the fact that I’m a student. I’ve learnt a good deal of what I know about other cultures from the diversity at my university.. I learnt basic spelling and grammar at primary school though..

          I would and do happily debate these issue face to face with peers and friends. Obviously this is a different medium though.. ‘Barry F’ is no different to ‘J’ in the scheme of things.

        • Barry f acts like his smart but any intelligent person knows their is no such thing as total free speech, never has and never will be anywhere in the world, closet racist!

  6. Hey Kabdoo, whilst Harmony Day is a good thing; I hope that one day we will not need this in Australia.

    My thoughts are that we will not need them as they will hopefully become irreleveant.

    We are Australia, the country of a fair go, can’t we just be cool with each other regardless of colour? This is what I hope for in this country, everyone on equal terms, everyone able to reach their potential,. Really, who )but a few dead shits) care what colour, sex or anything else someone may be matters??

    This talk of Asians being disrespectful is just plain wrong, if anything, Australian should embrace the Asian values of hard work, education and restraint.

    One day, It will not be a problem as we evolve and the bogans die off. Happy days ahead I think guys!

    Mike

  7. I don’t understand why FB allows these sort of pages to exist. I was looking at the TBL site and someone had posted a link to one called ” I am not racist, I have no problem with Indians living in India”, It’s just as full of racist bullshit as this one.

    • Yeah, it amazes me that FB doesn’t remove these pages when they’re clearly intended to be racist and offensive but a picture of a mother breastfeeding her baby is taken down because someone might a boob with a baby on it offensive!

  8. I am not better than you, nor you me
    We entered this world the same
    We will exit it the same
    We walk Mother Earth together
    We breathe Her air together

    – ONE LOVE

    • This one is more disturbing than usual because it’s so big… there’s already some chinese on there shooting back at the anglos. I wonder how damaging racism really is to our reputation overseas.

    • Not Bad 89,000 out of what 20 million Plus, so wonder how much income this website might generate for the founder via some form of sponsorships…. strange why can’t this website put a number on how many Real Racist are out in poluation….
      Have to say this website just like the media like to spoon feed its reader, with Hate for other Australia that dont follow there viewpoint 100% …. Freedom of Speech.. is just that and if in process you breach Australia Laws.. oh better add the U.N seeing so many reader keep bringing it up, then you will find yourself before the courts… it really getting so tired of this old record you keep playing over and over…. starting think if lot of these reader, where to get into a fight with somebody, they would consider it totally unfair unless the other person had one hand behind his back…. so as hard as it might be to except, until the day comes and hopefully it never does.. that we become a sociast and communist Country.. I will support Total Freedom of Speech regardless as to how much i might dislike the contents…also until that day I will support the Laws and rights of every australia….
      so if have problem with any Racist or injustice suggest you take it before courts and government..,, one reader that goes by name J … said that was clutching at straws if mean until the illegal people reagrdless how they arrive on our shore. apply yes…. Please tell me what you want ?? do you want laws and government or don’t you ??? just make -up your mind, if you apply then yes you are no longer illegal..
      The time period, whether be a few minutes or days does not matter, its what is considered under our laws and if want bring the UN into its thats fine…
      Perhaps if get pulled up by the police for speeding,let say a couple k over the speed limit, then should tell
      officer no I wasn’t speeding because was only a couple of K over.. try that in court and see what the judge tell you…. So please let agree to have laws and freedom of speech with all its pitfalls and pro and coms..also sorry J it wasn’t my intention to put you or any other student down for the lack of experience, education
      if you are lucky enough to be able to access it. is great gift,.. J saying Racism is far worse oversea is not absurd its a fact, which is far harder to address in those country, for the very Reason they Dont have the Freedom as you have ok…..

      cheers

      • Sigh …”barry f”, you’re still not getting it are you!

        U.N Law IS part of Australian Law and has been since Australia became a signatory of the U.N! You cannot take the law into your own hands and claim that protocols such as the Convention Principle and Refugee Act isn’t Australian Law – because it is! That’s why people have posted links on their replies to you so that you can see the evidence for yourself – evidence from our own government website! If you don’t like the fact that Australia are part of the U.N. then you need to adress that with our politicians, NOT demean and belittle those people who are genuinely coming here for asylum (AND legally allowed to do so!) It’s our politicians that make the decisions mate, not refugees.

        Since you are not reading the links that people have been generous to post on your behalf I will copy and paste some of the AUSTRALIAN legislation that affect our ‘debate’.

        “THE REFUGEE CONVENTION:

        Rights of Refugees and asylum seekers
        A person who is a refugee has a number of important rights under the Refugee Convention, including:
        • the right to seek asylum in a country outside their country of origin which has agreed to be bound by the Refugee Convention;
        • the right not to be returned to the country where they have a well-founded fear of persecution;
        • the right not to be discriminated against or penalised because they are a refugee;
        • the right to equal access to the courts;
        • freedom of religion and movement;
        • the right to education and employment; and
        • access to travel documents.

        Article 31 of the Refugee Convention prohibits penalising asylum seekers based on the manner of their arrival into the country from which they are seeking protection.

        These agreements, all of which Australia is a party to, include the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (1966)

        The Refugee Convention makes it clear that when asylum seekers enter Australia , the Australian Government must determine whether they are ‘refugees’ within the Convention definition and if they are, it must offer them protection.”

        Australia ratified the Refugee Convention on 22 January 1954 and the Protocol on 13 December 1973. So you see ‘barry f’ that this means that because Australia has agreed to be bound by certain obligations under international law towards people who meet the Convention definition of a refugee, we as a population are also bound to it! It’s the law and an Australian law at that!

        • Elysse, ok what your point,have read that many times, but please dont just pull out the bits of that convention that to your liking… as you did not include what the requirement where on the part of the refugee etc. at what point did I say that UN legistation is not part of the requirement for Government to follow…you also forgot to add international law, also where did I make the comment about taking the law into my own hands??? ,,
          What like to know, is why you stick hard and fast to THE LAWS that please you and that service your purpose, but on the other hand you will then turn blind eye to what you consider to be Law that you don’t like……
          We either follow the laws or you don’t whether it be international Law, UN or australian Law… its the same with Freedom of Speech, you either have or you don’t if don’t have it then close down the media.. as they are the first to talk about freedom of the press…… how about you and other follows of this website write what you consider the laws and what Freedom of Speech should be, think that would be most interesting reading…
          Tired of people with tunnel vision and are so one eye in there view, its high time that people who want to changes things, sit in middle of the table and look at all points of views. also tired of the record that keep playing about Racism in australia and anybody that might make a comment about whether they hate Chinese food etc, to be classed as Racist. gee I dislike Indian food and the smell of it and yet love chinese, so does that make me a Racist… you tell me ???.. yes Racism is worldwide, yes its in australia..yes work toward changing it, but do it without tunnel vision and both eye open.
          Look forward to reading what you consider the list of things should be allowed for the right of Freedom of
          Speech, along with what your views are on what laws we should follow and those we should just disregard because thet are not of your liking.

          you cant deide

        • STFU please! You are a moron Barry. I’m beginning to think you write like that so no one can understand just how absurd what you are trying to put across is! I won’t address anything you said because it makes no sense. You crackhead.

          Elysse I think we’ve run our race here. There’s just no rationalising with this guy. He is thick as shit

        • Sign of well educated person they have to resort to name calling,, geee I feel so hurt I don’t think,is that the best you can do.. guess you dont have answers to the 2 question , what pity so you are a sign of our youth one eye and with tunnel vision, may God have mercy on our country.. .

        • LOL ‘barry f’!

          1) Yes, I copy and pasted parts of the legislation because (and as I mentioned in my previous post) it is relevant to this debate.
          2) The qualifications or as you put it ‘the requirements of the refugee’ were posted at the start of this blog (which I cant be bothered to link again – and I think you will find that the legislation there is damning…for your argument).
          3) My comment about you taking the law into your own hands and MIS-interpreting it was a vain attempt at pointing out the irony of you critisising us on taking the law into our own hands and mis-interpreting it … still with me?
          4) There are many laws that I don’t agree with, that doesn’t mean to say they don’t exist and that I won’t abide by them – IT IS LAW. You highlight your anger at Australia accepting ‘illegal immigrants’ and all we’ve done is highlight the fact that there is nothing illegal about it. Which specific law is it that we are ‘turning blind eye’ to and leaving out of the equation that would help substantiate your argument? Actually, ignore that question, don’t want you to hurt yourself thinking about it.
          5) I didn’t forget to mention international law, I posted the documents in the link!
          6) I have never read any comment on here that has accused anyone of being a racist for saying that they disliked ‘chinese’ or foreign foods. Your paranoia has caused you to exaggerate. Nor have I heard of anyone say such a ridiculous thing! What I have heard is one idiot say that he won’t eat Chinese food … because he is not Chinese and he says this AS he is eating a pizza. See the irony ‘barry f’? But it’s this stupidity that this website seeks to expose.
          7) (Nearly done), Racism and Prejudice contravene two of the five fundamental freedoms here in Australia. Ironically, they use the ‘Freedom of Speech’ argument to preach hatred about asylum seekers, refugees, non-whites, non-blacks etc but they don’t understand it. If they did, then they would understand that by voicing their ignorant opinions under the Freedom of Speech law, it compromises other laws such as defamation, freedom of religion, inciting hatred and lastly, the freedom of speech law itself! Using the Freedom of Speech Law to voice opinions of hate renders the law null and void because it contradicts it because it cause harm – it can’t and won’t stop you from saying it, but it won’t protect you either. That’s the beauty of it.

          And lastly ‘barry f’, I’m going to take the advice that has been given to me. This is my last post to you me old matey – wish you all the luck … you might be needing it.

          http://www.immi.gov.au/living-in-australia/choose-australia/about-australia/five-freedoms.htm

        • LOL ‘barry f’!

          1) Yes, I copy and pasted parts of the legislation because (and as I mentioned in my previous post) it is relevant to this debate.
          2) The qualifications or as you put it ‘the requirements of the refugee’ were posted at the start of this blog (which I cant be bothered to link again – and I think you will find that the legislation there is damning…for your argument).
          3) My comment about you taking the law into your own hands and MIS-interpreting it was a vain attempt at pointing out the irony of you critisising us on taking the law into our own hands and mis-interpreting it … still with me?
          4) There are many laws that I don’t agree with, that doesn’t mean to say they don’t exist and that I won’t abide by them – IT IS LAW. You highlight your anger at Australia accepting ‘illegal immigrants’ and all we’ve done is highlight the fact that there is nothing illegal about it. Which specific law is it that we are ‘turning blind eye’ to and leaving out of the equation that would help substantiate your argument? Actually, ignore that question, don’t want you to hurt yourself thinking about it.
          5) I didn’t forget to mention international law, I posted the documents in the link!
          6) I have never read any comment on here that has accused anyone of being a racist for saying that they disliked ‘chinese’ or foreign foods. Your paranoia has caused you to exaggerate. Nor have I heard of anyone say such a ridiculous thing! What I have heard is one idiot say that he won’t eat Chinese food … because he is not Chinese and he says this AS he is eating a pizza. See the irony ‘barry f’? But it’s this stupidity that this website seeks to expose.
          7) (Nearly done), Racism and Prejudice contravene two of the five fundamental freedoms here in Australia. Ironically, they use the *’Freedom of Speech’ argument to preach hatred about asylum seekers, refugees, non-whites, non-blacks etc but they don’t understand it. If they did, then they would understand that by voicing their ignorant opinions under *’Freedom of Speech’, it compromises other laws such as defamation, freedom of religion, inciting hatred and lastly, freedom of speech itself! Using *’Freedom of Speech’ to voice opinions of hate renders the law null and void because it contradicts it – it can’t and won’t stop you from what you want to say, but it won’t protect you either. That’s the beauty of it.

          And lastly ‘barry f’, I’m going to take the advice that has been given to me. This is my last post to you me old matey – wish you all the luck … you might be needing it.

          http://www.immi.gov.au/living-in-australia/choose-australia/about-australia/five-freedoms.htm
          http://www.aph.gov.au/Library/pubs/rn/2001-02/02rn42.htm

          *Article 19 of the 1966 United Nations International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR).Technically, Australia CAN restrict or censor speech through censorship legislation or other laws, as long as they are otherwise within constitutional power. Australia does not follow legislation under the U.N. proposed ‘Freedom of speech’ act.

        • Would anyone care to speculate as to what the ‘f’ in ‘barry f’ might be short for?

  9. what have these people done??? their just saying their opinions on the web and you cunts are defaming em???? what hapened to democracy and free speech???

    • They defamed themselves by putting their hateful comments into an online forum.

      P.S – I object to you using the name ‘ANZAC’ so I’ve changed it for you.

      • so u change my name too eh? thats somethin fuckin Hitler would have done. Dont u like democraci or something? Does the west offend you? besides did you see any afghans or lebanese or chinese or somalians fight with the ANZAC’s at gallipolli and D-Day???? No. i’m not sayin there bad people. Its just that it was white’s who did all the fihting at ANZAC cove. Now get of your communist hi-horse and let all expres opinyons!!!

  10. and i know your defaming because people have copyrite in there facebook pages.

    • thats defaming materals you have up there.you make australians look likw NAZIS having the same communist politics you have by defaming AUSSIE free speech!!!

      • Free speech is not hate speech. You and your friends are legally liable for anything you post. Racial vilification is against the law.

        We have passed the URL of that site onto Indigenous Facebook sites.I hope they ream you and your pals some new arseholes.

        And there is no copyright on public forum posts fuckbag!

    • They made the comments. They must stand by them, as they said them in public.

      P.S – I’ve changed your name from being ‘ANZAC’ as your comments are disrespectful to their good reputation.

      • so u change my name too eh? thats somethin fuckin Hitler would have done. Dont u like democraci or something? Does the west offend you? besides did you see any afghans or lebanese or chinese or somalians fight with the ANZAC’s at gallipolli and D-Day???? No. i’m not sayin there bad people. Its just that it was white’s who did all the fihting at ANZAC cove. Now get of your communist hi-horse and let all expres opinyons!!!

        and Oz does have free speech. It’s in the bill of rights in our constitution!!!

        • At gallipoli the Australians were outnumbered by the British and French. Oh and the Ottoman Turks outnumbered everybody.

          Hitler didn’t change peoples names. Just had them sterilized.

          Oh and stopping you from misusing a name isn’t undemocratic. Democracy is simply a system whereby a government os chosen by it’s citizens via a voting system.

          And australia does not have a bill of rights. The only explicit rights we have are a freedom of religion, right to trial by peers and freedom of association.

  11. @J Keep it up mate. Some of the greatest sociological changes in history were started by students. Most of the people who were active in the recent revolution in Egypt were under 25 and hadn’t been out of the country.

    Our universities and other educational institutions are where we are taught independent thought. That’s why students are critical to any discussion about major social issues. Sure they may not have many responsibilities or years of experience but those things can be a double-edged sword. As we join the workforce and acquire responsibilities and experience, they enrich our lives in some ways. However, they also can also lead to disillusionment, conservatism and apathy. Believe it or not, many students put a lot of the free time that we often criticise them for having towards frank and open discussion about social issues. Many of them actively support their passions/causes too. They have a better chance of coming up with new ideas than us old kodgers who are set in our ways [of thinking].

    My daughter recently won a regional public speaking competition and the topic she chose was “Sport brings people together”. She’s only 9 years old but I have a feeling she could teach some adults a thing or 2 about tolerance and social harmony.

    Our youth have a lot to say. We should listen. We may just learn something.

    • Thanks mate. And good luck to your daughter. She sure sounds like she’s on the right path. It’s always interesting to hear what children have to say because it’s so raw and unadulterated. Especially these days when they get to go to multicultural schools and have friends from such a diverse range of ethnicities. These are going to be the adults of the future that live with the consequences of decisions we make today.

  12. How is reconciliation ever going to work? Racism is LEARNT!! Children aren’t born with hatred!
    I will never raise my children to be discriminative of anyone for ANY reason! Be it sexual orientation, religion, race or how much money they have!
    I beleive that discrimination is the most ignorant form of hatred! My father taught me that if you HAVE to have disagreements with anyone, it’s for their actions, not who or what they are!!
    I am not a racist, by any means! But here is something for you to think about:
    The indigenous population of Australia were made to assymilate! With everything! Clothes, food, culture, religion, education, means of tansport… So why not all ‘new’ Australian’s also? If Australia is such a tolerant country, why aren’t Aboriginies allowed to wear lap-laps in public, pubs and clubs, but Muslim women are allowed to wear hijabs and Indian men are allowed to wear Turbans?? The lap-lap is traditional ceremonial clothing… It’s little things like that, a piece of clothing, that get overlooked and not counted as racism!
    Racism is not against Aboriginies alone, nor Chinese or any one race! But come on Australia, we need to WANT reconciliation to work!!

What do YOU think about this?

